On My Radar for Fall 2019: The (Mostly) Eight Episode Check-In!

The Fall season and the final run for 2019 is nearing it’s end. The decade is going to close on a decent note, as the last part of the year has delivered some solid anime so far, and I’ve been enjoying it far more than the rest of what 2019 has offered. We are eight episodes in and it’s time to once again give you my thoughts on what I’m watching. Check it out after the cut!

Image result for anime fall pictures
It’s always thigh time.

Fate/Grand Order: Zettai Majuu Sensen Babylonia

Fate/Grand Order: Zettai Majuu Sensen Babylonia
Still fuck the FateGO Gacha

My thoughts after 8 episodes: One more time, Fuck FateGO’s gacha system.

It’s still Fate with all the good and bad that comes with it. So far this year’s installment is right where i placed it last time, above Fate/Extra Last Encore, but below Fate/Apocrypha. It still looks great, it still got plenty of booty, and the plot is still in “part 7 of 7,” though now that the cast has established itself, that isn’t much of a problem. Still I love Fate, and this is harmless good fun.

CURRENT STATUS:  Still Bootylicious (and still watching)

Assassins Pride

Assassins Pride
Work related accident

My thoughts after 3 episodes: My sudden increase in the amount of work I had pretty much dropped this series for me. Nothing wrong with the show itself, but i never really pulled my interest and there has been far better stuff this season, so something had to give.

CURRENT STATUS: DROPPED

No Guns Life

No Guns Life

My thoughts after 8 episodes: I’m still really digging this show, though that initial hype of the premise and characters has died down a bit. Right now it’s a fun and tightly told story with cool characters, some nice fanservice and isn’t trying too hard to be anything more than it is. It feel very much like what Magical Girl-Spec Ops Asuka was trying to be in terms of it’s reception, and it has succeeded where that has failed.

CURRENT STATUS: Looking for a good smoke after enjoying this wild ride.

Babylon

Babylon
Holy shit…

My thoughts after 7 episodes: Holy shit.

I went into this show absolutely thinking it was going to be the first thing I would drop this season, that it would something to pay no mind to, but good god in heaven was I wrong. Babylon has been an absolute thrill, with twists and turns and developments that keep you at the edge of your seat. Just when you think things have calmed down, it takes the hardest of left turns and kicks you back into your seat all over again. With one of the best baddies in Anime history, and an absolute nail biter of a cliffhanger for Part II, Babylon is probably the only show that has a real legit chance of taking ‘Anime of the Year’ from my front runner.

Start watching this show, it’s that fucking good.

CURRENT STATUS: MAGASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oresuki: Are you the only one who loves me?

Ore wo Suki nano wa Omae dake ka yo
Still Hmmmmmm with a bit of EHHHH?

My thoughts after 8 episodes: Ever since I’ve returned to anime in 2017, there hasn’t been a show that has left me as confused and curious as Oresuki. I’ve always prided myself on figuring out a show’s ‘deal’ sooner or later, but that just isn’t the case with this one. I don’t know if Oresuki is a genius take-down and parody of the Harem genre, or it is a story that has absolutely no idea what it’s doing. I don’t know if it’s main character is a true asshole, or just a guy screwed over by fate. I don’t know if its main girl is a genuine stalker, or a guardian angel trying to help the rest of the cast. This show is a mystery wrapped in an enigma, that could very well end up just being bad writing. But I’m on this train until the end.

CURRENT STATUS:  Watching and Enjoying? Maybe? I don’t know? This show is so strange man…

The Hero is Overpowered, but Overly Cautious

Shinchou Yuusha: Kono Yuusha ga Ore Tueee Kuse ni Shinchou Sugiru
Hold on, going over my check-list.

My thoughts after 8 episodes: This Isekai has been a fun popcorn flick, with great comedy, fun fanservice and a main character that feels like a breath of fresh air even though he’s pretty much just one single gag played over and over again. This is a show that in the wrong hands, or even mediocre hands, would have bombed EXTREMELY hard. Yet somehow it has not only worked, but also been a damn good show.

CURRENT STATUS: Hold on..still making sure I’m FULLY prepared.

Azur Lane

Azur Lane
See Below

My thoughts after 8 episodes: This show is a commercial for the mobile game, despite being pretty well made, it is at its heart, a commercial to make people play that game. Since I am current player and have been for over a year now, I’ve really enjoying this show as it brings all my ship-girl waifus to life with plenty of excellent fanservice.

If your not like me, then you’ve probably dropped it, and that’s honestly fine.

CURRENT STATUS:

Image result for anime drool gif

Leave a comment